Paper Pattern and Exam Structure for TET Exams

Generally, the TET exam has been divided into two paper.

  • Two papers  – Paper I for classes I to V,  Paper-II  for VI to VIII
  • 150 Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs), each carrying one mark, with four alternatives. No negative marking
  • Duration of 1.5 hours
  • A student can appear for both papers
  • 60% marks necessary for passing

Paper -1 – 150 MCQs on 5 subjects namely (30 marks each)

  • Child Dev & Pedagogy
  • Lang. 1
  • Lang. 2
  • Maths
  • Env Studies

Paper-2 – 150 MCQs on 5(4) subjects

  • Child Dev & Pedagogy (30 marks)
  • Lang-1 (instruction language) (30 marks)
  • Lang-2 (30 marks)
  • Maths & Science (60 marks)


  • Social Studies  (60 marks)

(Any other subject teacher has to select Maths & Science OR Social Studies)

Minimum Passing Marks

Overall 60% marks are necessary for passing TET exams.

NOTE: The TET certificate will display marks obtained in each subject.

Certificate Validity

The TET certificate will be valid for a maximum period of SEVEN years for recruitment of teachers. A state board may decide to reduce this period if it deems fit.

There is no restriction of a number of attempts/retests by a candidate.

A candidate may also appear again to improve his/her score.

Leave a Comment