Teachers Eligibility Test

This website is completely dedicated to the TET Exams being conducted across India. Here we are going to provide all details about TET Application Form, Exam Schedule, Study Material, Previous Year Question Papers, Admit Card/ Hall Ticket, Answer Key, Result, and much more. We will be covering all State board’s TET Exam here. You can gather all the needed information right from here.

What is TET (Teacher Eligibility Test)?

Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) is a compulsory exam for anyone who wishes to secure a teaching job in government, private, aided or unaided schools for classes I to VIII.

The TET exam is conducted by all state educational boards and the central educational board (CBSE) every year.  One needs to secure at least 60% marks to clear the TET test and receive the qualifying certificate. This certificate then allows the candidate to apply for a teaching job.

The TET certificate is normally valid for seven years.

TET Authority

The National Council of Teacher Education (NCTE) is authorised by the Central Government (to meet provisions of the RTE Act 2009) as the authority for setting minimum qualifications an applicant must have before he can be appointed as a teacher for classes I to VIII.  It is by way of this authority that the NCTE has made TET compulsory for anyone who wishes to become a teacher in classes I to VIII.

Who conducts TET?

At the State/UT level:

As per the guidelines provided by the NCTE, the TET examination will be conducted once a year by suitable educational bodies across all States/Union Territories. These educational bodies will be the ones that are authorised by their respective governments to conduct TETs.

Some examples-

Madhyamik Shiksha Parishad, Allahabad is authorised to conduct UPTET, which is Uttar Pradesh TET.

  1. Department of State Education Research and Training, Bangalore Karnataka is authorised to conduct KTET, which is Karnataka TET.
  2. Teacher Recruitment Board, TRB, Chennai is authorised to conduct TNTET, which Tamil Nadu TET.
  3. Haryana Board of School Education, BSEH, Bhiwani is authorised to conduct HTET.

At the Central level:

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is authorised by the Central Government to conduct the Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET).

If a State or Union Territory TET authority does not hold a test, aspiring teachers/school located in that particular State or UT can appear for CTET conducted by the CBSE.

The certificate, which an aspiring teacher receives after passing the CTET, is applicable in all States/UTs.

Why is TET necessary?

Govt. wants that the quality of teachers is not diluted at any cost. By TET they want to ensure that the essential aptitude and ability to meet the challenges of teaching at the primary and upper primary level are maintained.

TET exam will:

i. Bring national standards and benchmark of teacher quality in the recruitment process

ii. It would compel teacher education institutions and students from these colleges to further improve their performance standards

iii. It would send a positive signal to all stakeholders esp parents that the Government   lays special emphasis on teacher quality in their schools

Check Eligibility Minimum Qualification Passing Score